News, seminars, events

The Mathematical Foundations group holds informal seminars on a wide variety of subjects. These are informative and of interest to both students and staff. The seminars are not always just concerned with new research. We often use them as a chance for teaching or to provide background knowledge in more established areas. Finally, we encourage audience participation!

Seminars usually take from 2.00 to 5.00 to give enough time to discuss a topic in some depth. We invite the audience to ask questions or make comments.

  • MFG Seminar Monday 23rd July

    Published: Friday, 20 July 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Monday 23rd July from 2.00 in 2.33.It will be given by Joe Razavi, and his title and abstract can be found below. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Wednesday 11 July

    Published: Thursday, 05 July 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Wednesday 11 July from 14.00 in Atlas 1.   It will be given by me and will be a continuation of the previous seminar, covering aspects of the categorical notion of trace.   Andrea ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Wednesday 27 June

    Published: Friday, 22 June 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Wednesday 27 June in Atlas 1 (note unusual time and location).  It will be given by me, and the abstract appears below. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Monday 11th June

    Published: Friday, 08 June 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Monday 11th June from 2.00 in 2.33 as usual.The speaker will be Toby Osborne, and his title and abstract are given below.  Andrea Cograph based proof nets for multiplicative linear logic. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Tuesday 29 May

    Published: Friday, 25 May 2018
    The next MFG seminar will be given by Pouya Adrom.It will take place on Tuesday 29 May from 2.00pm in 2.33 as usual.Andrea   This talk will follow my previous discussion of (cofibrantly) generated factorisation systems. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG seminar Monday 14 May

    Published: Friday, 11 May 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Monday in 2.33 from 2.00.It will be given by Joe Razavi, and his title and abstract are given below. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Monday 30 April

    Published: Friday, 27 April 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on 30 April from 2.00 in 2.33.The speaker is Pouya Adrom and I give his abstract below. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Monday 16th April

    Published: Friday, 13 April 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Monday 16th April from 2.00pm in Atlas 2 (note unusual venue).It will be given by Andrea Schalk, and the title and abstract is given below.  Andrea   What are coherence spaces, really? ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Tuesday 3rd April

    Published: Thursday, 29 March 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Tuesday 3rd April from 2.00 in 2.33.It will be given by Francisco Lobo, and it will continue the talk on Algebraic Factorization Systems which began at the previous MFG seminar on 19th March. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
  • MFG Seminar Monday 19th March

    Published: Saturday, 17 March 2018
    The next MFG seminar will take place on Monday 19th March from 2.00 in 2.33.It will be given by Francisco Lobo.His title and abstract are given below.  Andrea   Title: Algebraic Factorisation Systems. ...
    gravatar Andrea Schalk
Generated: Thursday, 15 November 2018 09:25:20
Last change: Friday, 20 July 2018 13:18:30
▲ Up to the top