Course information

Course units

Each year a student is required to take a number of compulsory course units which are core to their course. Additionaly, depending on the year of study, students have optional course units allowing students considerable freedom to choose the course units in subject areas which interest the student.

A course unit consists of a series of lectures, laboratories, workshops, examples classes and tutorials culminating in a formal assesment.

A course unit typically consists of 22 one-hour lectures, 6 two-hour labs and 6 one-hour examples classes delivered over a semester; however, it is common for course units to deliver twice the normal quantity over two semesters and many course units do not conform to this standard template.

For more information on academic terms please see the University of Manchester's glossary.

| A | C | D | F | I | L | M | N | O | P | Q | S | T | U |
▲ Up to the top